Purchase from a Colorado Dealer
You should register your vehicle within 60 days of purchase (before your temporary tag expires).
- Verify with your dealer or lender how they will submit the paperwork – whether it will be directly to our office or to you as the buyer. In most cases, the dealer will send the title paperwork to the Motor Vehicle Division for financed or leased vehicles. You will then receive a white postcard (Title Complete Notice) when the paperwork is completed. At that point, you can register your vehicle online. Note: Tesla often gives the paperwork directly to the buyer instead of sending to our office. Once you have the paperwork and before scheduling an appointment, please be sure to confirm the Security Agreement from the lender is in your paperwork. If it is not, obtain this from your lender and bring it with you when titling and registering your vehicle.
- If you are still waiting for your Title Complete Notice, you can also check the status of your title paperwork online or contact our office.
- Credit from a previous registration: If you wish to transfer credit from a valid registration of a previously owned vehicle, you will not be able to transfer credit online. Please make an appointment. Also, please note that license plates from a previously owned vehicle cannot be transferred to your new vehicle.
- The dealer will mail the title paperwork to you directly (usually about one month after purchase). After you receive the paperwork, you will need to visit one of our branches to title and register your vehicle. Click here to make a registration appointment.
Provide the following to register a vehicle purchased from a Colorado dealer:
- Secure and Verifiable ID
- Financed purchases only: Title Complete Notice – postcard from the Motor Vehicle Division
- Cash purchases only: Complete paperwork from the dealer, including vehicle title and dealer invoice/bill of sale
- Proof of Insurance
- License plates and/or current registration from previously owned vehicle, if applicable (you can receive credit for reusing plates and/or for any time remaining on your current registration)
- Proof of emissions test, if required (dealer will provide a passing emissions test or a test voucher good for 3 days)
- Payment for registration fees & taxes
- An appointment for a “Title” transaction
You can estimate your registration fees online (note that this estimate will not include applicable taxes). Be sure to enter the original MSRP (usually different from your purchase price). You may need to look this up online. Fees cannot be estimated over the phone or by email.
License Plate Information
Specialty license plates and credit from previous registrations may be transferred from a previously owned vehicle (this must be completed in-office with a “Registration” appointment. Colorado offers many license plate options. Plates must be renewed every 12-months and can be renewed the month before and the month after your expiration month. You can renew your registration anytime during your registration month or the month after (known as the one-month grace period).
Colorado law requires residents to pay late fees of $25 per month, not to exceed $100. Late fees will be assessed on expired temporary permits. Late fees may also be assessed if you fail to register your vehicle 61 days after you purchase it. Registration fees will be calculated from the date of purchase.