To renew your Concealed Handgun Permit, you must apply with the Sheriff’s agency in the jurisdiction where you live (even if the permit was issued by another agency within the State of Colorado).*
You may renew up to 120 days (4 months) prior to your permit’s expiration.
NO additional training is required for a renewal (but is recommended).
Make sure you have your Colorado Driver’s License or Identification Card and credit/debit card handy, then begin the RENEWAL application process through the Permitium portal.
After applicable background checks are made, and if you continue to qualify for a Concealed Handgun Permit, your new permit will be mailed to you at the address you provided on your application in approximately four weeks.
The cost of a RENEWAL CHP application is $63.00 (plus credit card fees) if the permit is current. The cost of a LATE renewal CHP is $78.00 ($63.00 plus a $15.00 late fee, as required by State Law) for up to six months expired. A permit that is more than six months expired is not renewable per State Law.
*Out of state permits are NOT eligible for renewal. If you would like a Concealed Handgun Permit in the State of Colorado, you must begin with a NEW application, following all requirements.