Liquor licenses in unincorporated Boulder County are administered by the Boulder County Community Planning & Permitting Department. Licenses may be held in the name of a corporation, limited liability companies, partnerships or sole proprietors.
The Local Licensing Authority holds public hearings or review of renewal applications on an as-needed basis. Liquor Licensing agendas are posted on the main floor of the Boulder County Courthouse at least 24 hours in advance. All hearings will be posted on the licensed premises for 10 days prior to the hearing. In addition, hearings on new applications will be published in the designated county newspaper.
The county does not have jurisdiction over liquor licenses within incorporated towns or cities. If you have a question regarding licensing within one of the cities or towns in Boulder County, please contact that municipality directly.
Local Licensing Authority Public Hearings will be posted here as scheduled
Notice of Public Hearing Before the Liquor Authority, County 0f Boulder, State of Colorado – May 31, 2022
Date: Tuesday, May 31, 2022
Time: 10 a.m.
Location: This hearing will be held virtually. You may join by calling in to 720-400-7859, Phone Conference ID: 319 540 208#
Notice is hereby given that a Public Hearing will be held by the Liquor Authority, County of Boulder, State of Colorado. All persons in any manner interested in the following item are requested to attend such hearing and aid the Liquor Authority in his consideration of this matter.
Pursuant to the Liquor Laws of Colorado, Big Owl LLC Dba MillSite Inn 44365 Hwy 72, Ward, Jesse Moyer, 44365 Highway 72, Ward, CO 80481, has requested the Licensing Officials of Boulder County to Grant a Hotel & Restaurant License at 44365 Hwy 72, Ward
Application filed: January 31, 2022
Petitions or Remonstrances may be filed at Boulder County Courthouse Annex, 2045 13th Street, C/O Licensing Specialist, Boulder, Colorado, or mailed to Licensing Specialist, Boulder County Community Planning & Permitting, PO Box 471, Boulder, CO 80306, or e-mailed to firstname.lastname@example.org.
Recent Past Public Hearings
Local Licensing Authority Virtual Public Hearing – June 23, 2020
Pursuant to the Liquor Laws of Colorado: Haystack’s Homemade Inc., 5877 Niwot Rd, Longmont, CO 80503 – Julia Pirnack, 100% Owner, 5877 Niwot Road, Longmont, CO 80503, has requested the Licensing Officials of Boulder County to Grant a permanent modification of a Tavern license at 5877 Niwot Road, Longmont, CO 80503. Application filed on March 24, 2020.
Application denied on June 23, 2020.
Local Licensing Authority Virtual Public Hearing – May 27, 2020
Pursuant to the Liquor Laws of Colorado: Wheelhouse LLC, DBA Niwot Wheel Works, P.O. Box 752, Niwot, CO 80544 – Eric Bergeson, 100% Owner, P.O. Box 752, Niwot, CO 80544, has requested the Licensing Officials of Boulder County to Grant a Lodging and Entertainment License at 101 2nd Avenue, Suite A & C, Niwot, CO 80544. Application filed on January 14, 2020.
Application approved on May 27, 2020.
Special Event Liquor Permits
Nonprofit organizations may apply for a special event liquor permit for up to 15 days each year. Please submit the application at least 45 days prior to the event.
- Special Event Permit Instructions
- Special Event Application
- Colorado Department of Revenue Form DR8439 (required attachments noted on form)
All forms and attachments must be filed with the Licensing Clerk at the Boulder County Administrative Services office in downtown Boulder. Applicants must make an appointment to drop off the application and attachments and pick up a poster by contacting the Liquor Licensing Clerk.
Applying for a New License
Applications can be made for a new license. The process for this is fairly lengthy, with the average time between application and local approval being at least two to three months. After local approval, the application is sent to the state for review and approval. Contact the Licensing Clerk to begin the process.
The Commissioners have appointed a Local Licensing Authority to review all applications for approval and preside over public hearings on licensing matters. New license applications require a public hearing. If approved at the public hearing, the application is forwarded to the state for review and approval.
- New Liquor License Checklist
- New Liquor License Instructions
- Fee Schedule
- Sample Petition
- Forms provided by Colorado Department of Revenue — Retail License Application and Individual History Record (Lawful Presence Affidavit is only necessary if application is in name of Sole Proprietor or Husband/Wife Partnership; Affidavit of Transfer and Statement of Compliance is only necessary when transferring an existing license)
Applying for a Transfer of an Existing License
Applications can be made for the transfer of an existing license. This process is fairly lengthy with the average time between application and Local Approval being at least two months. After Local Approval, the application is sent to the state for review and approval. The Applicant may apply for a Temporary Liquor License within 30 days of submitting the Transfer Application.
- Transfer Liquor License Instructions
- Transfer Liquor License Checklist
- Fee Schedule
- Temporary Permit Application(Transfers of License only)
- Forms provided by Colorado Department of Revenue — Retail License Application, Individual History Record and Affidavit of Transfer and Statement of Compliance (Lawful Presence Affidavit is only necessary if application is in name of Sole Proprietor or Husband/Wife Partnership)
Renewals of Licenses
Approximately 90 days prior to expiration of licenses, the Colorado Department of Revenue will send licensees a renewal application form. The renewal application form must be filed with the Local Authority (Boulder County) at least 45 days prior to expiration. Please do not send the renewal application to the Colorado Department of Revenue.
If you did not receive a renewal application from the Colorado Department of Revenue, you may obtain a Renewal Application Form DR 8400 (or DR 8401 for fermented malt beverages) from the Colorado Department of Revenue website
Renewal fees payable to Colorado Department of Revenue are listed on the renewal application. View fees payable to Boulder County (Local Authority).
Other Frequently Used Forms
Additional forms are available on the Colorado Department of Revenue website, including:
- DR 8442 – Permit Application and Report of Changes (register new manager, modification of premises or change of location, change or trade name or corporation name, etc.)
- DR 8177 – Report of Changes Corporation, Limited Liability, Company and Partnership (change of ownership, officers, etc.)
- DR 8401-I – Individual History Record