Incorporated Municipalities

Towns and Cities within Boulder County

Boulder County is comprised of the unincorporated areas of the county, plus we are joined in partnership by ten incorporated towns and cities.* In many cases, if you live in an incorporated municipality (aka, a city or town), your first contact level of local government will be your city or town hall.

Not certain whether a property sits within the unincorporated county or inside a city or town? Type in the address in the “enter search term” box at the top of the Property Search page, and view the jurisdiction under Property Description.

We are providing the following contact list of towns and cities for your convenience. If you have questions around building and planning development within your town or city, please visit: Municipal Building and Planning

City of Boulder


Town of Erie


Town of Jamestown


City of Lafayette


City of Longmont


City of Louisville


Town of Lyons


Town of Nederland


Town of Superior


Town of Ward

303-459-3358, email:

Unincorporated Communities

*In general, municipalities run their own garbage and recycling programs, manage utilities such as water and sewer, maintain their own streets, coordinate law enforcement and fire protection, house their own libraries, plan their city’s building and development, and manage parks and recreation activities within their town borders.

In addition, Boulder County provides an array of health, housing, and human services programs within towns and cities, and also coordinates countywide activities such as elections, license plate registration, recording, court services, tax payments, and property assessments. County open space properties are open to all, and in many cases, we jointly own and maintain open space properties with towns and cities as our community partners.