Housing & Human Services locations in Boulder & Longmont are closed until Feb. 13. Call 303-441-1000, text 303-441-1069

Renew Registration

Renew Registration

Note that renewals must be completed out of office as of December 5, 2022. Please use one of the options below.

4 Ways to Renew Your Vehicle Registration

Renewal postcards are mailed out right before the month of expiration. In Colorado, you can renew up to the last day of the month after expiration (known as the one-month grace period) without accruing late fees. However, we recommend that you do not travel out of state on expired tags as other states may not honor the grace month.

Starting in January 2023, ​​​you will have the option to get a $29 Keep Colorado Wild (CO State Parks) Pass when you renew your vehicle registration. The $29 fee will automatically be included in the price of your registration renewal unless you opt out. Learn more here.

Self-Service Kiosk

Boulder County residents can use any kiosk throughout state.

No waiting – your registration and license plate tabs are printed immediately!

Not available if you need to provide proof of insurance.

Learn More

Renew Online

Available 24/7. Sticker arrives by mail in 1-2 weeks.

Option to print a temporary permit you can place on your front dash before your sticker arrives.

Not available if you need to provide proof of insurance.

Renew Online

Use a Drop Box

Drop boxes are available at our Boulder, Lafayette, and Longmont office locations.

Allow 7-10 business days to receive your renewal stickers.

Good option if you need to provide proof of insurance.

Learn More

Renew by Mail

Don’t want to renew by kiosk, online, or using a drop box? It is easy to renew by mail.

Be sure you have plenty of time before the end of your grace month.

Good option if you need to provide proof of insurance.

Learn How

Renewal Checklist

To renew your vehicle registration, you will need the following:

Renewal Notice (postcard), copy of the last registration, or VIN number + License Plate Number

Method of Payment – payment options vary by renewal method

Proof of Colorado Auto Insurance (if noted on postcard)

Proof of Emissions Test (if noted on postcard)

Warning: Unofficial Motor Vehicle Websites

Pay close attention when searching online for motor vehicle information. Many unofficial websites provide inaccurate information and/or charge unnecessary fees.

Please check the URL of the site to determine if it is an official DMV website belonging to Boulder County or the State of Colorado. These URLs will contain either colorado.gov or bouldercounty.org.

More Information

Emissions Requirements

You must obtain an emissions test if noted on your renewal postcard. Please visit our Emissions Testing page to learn more about testing locations and cost, exemptions, requirements, and waivers/extensions.

Renewal Deadlines

Renew a vehicle registration during one the following:

  • Month before the registration expires
  • Month the registration expires
  • Month after the registration expires, no later than the last business day. (Known as the one-month grace period)

Late Fees

  • Colorado law requires residents to pay late fees of $25 per month, not to exceed $100.
  • Fees begin to accumulate after your one-month grace period.
  • Temporary permits are not subject to a one-month grace period (C.R.S. 42-3-112, 42-3-114).

Renewal postcards will not be forwarded – update your address online to ensure that you will receive future renewal notices. Be sure to update both your legal and mailing addresses. You will need your:

  • License plate number
  • Last eight characters of Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) or Verification Code

Contact Us

Motor Vehicle Division

**New as of Jan 4, 2021**
7:30 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. Mon-Thurs.
CLOSED Fridays
Online Contact Form
Contáctenos - Formulario en línea

Phone: 303-413-7710

Fax: 303-413-7725 (Boulder office)
Fax: 303-413-7002 (Lafayette office)
Fax: 303-678-6126 (Longmont office)

Location

Boulder: 1750 33rd Street
Map & Directions

Longmont: 529 Coffman Street
Map & Directions

Lafayette: 1376 Miners Drive
Map & Directions

Mailing Address

1750 33rd Street, Suite 100
Boulder, CO 80301