No Firearm Discharge Areas

No Firearm Discharge Areas

Enforcement of Boulder County No Firearm Discharge Areas

The Boulder County Sheriff’s Office is the enforcement authority for Boulder County resolutions that close areas in Boulder County to the discharges of firearms under C.R.S. § 30-15-302.

On May 21, 2024, the Board of County Commissioners of Boulder County signed Resolution No. 2024-040, A Resolution to Limit the Discharge of Firearms in the Sugarloaf Area, closing areas surrounding the Sugarloaf, Swiss Peaks and Crisman communities (the “Sugarloaf Firearm Discharge Prohibition Area”) to the discharge of firearms for all purposes, including recreational shooting and hunting, with the following limited exceptions:

  • Firearms may be used for hunting on National Forest Land within the Sugarloaf Firearm Discharge Prohibition Area only with a valid license issued by Colorado Parks and Wildlife and to the extent allowed by Colorado law and Colorado Parks and Wildlife regulations, United States Forest Service regulations, and the John D. Dingell Jr. Conservation Management and Recreation Act, Public Law 116-9.
  • Firearms may be discharged on private property within the Sugarloaf Firearm Discharge Prohibition Area with the consent of the property owner only if the discharge is done in a manner that does not endanger any persons or property and that ensures that any projectile from the firearm does not leave the grounds or space of the private property.

Under Resolution No. 2024-040, the definition of a “firearm” includes any weapon from which any shot, projectile, or bullet may be discharged. This definition includes bows and arrows.

Effective immediately, the Sheriff’s Office will begin enforcement of Resolution No. 2024-040. Violation of the resolution is a petty offense punishable by a fine no greater than $300, 10 days imprisonment in a county jail, or both.

For more information regarding Resolution No. 2024-040, please see the text of the resolution posted on the Boulder County Sheriff’s Office website. To view the precise boundaries of the Sugarloaf Firearm Discharge Prohibition Area, and to view the boundaries of other no-discharge areas in Boulder County, please view the GIS map located at:

Report Suspected Violations

To report suspected violations of Resolution No. 2024-040 or other no-discharge resolutions in Boulder County, you may contact the Boulder County Sheriff’s Office at 303-441-4444.

Contact Us

Sheriff's Office

Main: 303-441-3600
Alternate: 303-441-4444
Fax: 303-441-4739


Sheriff's Headquarters
5600 Flatiron Parkway
Boulder, CO 80301
Map and Directions


Sheriff's website
Head Quarters Lobby Hours:
8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Sheriff badge