Starting Jan. 1, the minimum wage in unincorporated Boulder County is $15.69/hour.

A partir del 1 de enero, el salario mínimo local en la zona no incorporada del condado de Boulder será de $15,69/hora.

What Happens to My Money?

Appointments now required for in-person visits. Additionally, registration renewals need to be completed out of office. Options include online, by mail or drop box, or at a self-service kiosk. Read about these changes (including benefits, and FAQs). Información en español.

What Happens to My Money?

Fees and taxes collected by the State of Colorado and the Boulder County Motor Vehicle Division are disbursed to several funds in accordance with state law.

Sales Tax (C.R.S. 39-26-113)

Sales taxes are due when a vehicle is purchased.

License Fee (C.R.S. 42-3-306)

$0.94 – County Road District and Bridge Fund (C.R.S. 42-3-310(1))
$4.00 – County General Fund (C.R.S. 42-1-210(1)(a))
$0.50 – Air account in Highway User Tax Fund (HUTF) (C.R.S. 42-3-304(18)(a))
$0.70 – County Emissions Control Account (C.R.S. 42-3-304(18)(a))
$51.88 – Electric Vehicle Fee (C.R.S. 42-3-304(25)(a))
$1.50 – State Department of Health for Emissions Control (C.R.S. 42-3-304(18)(b))
$2.00 – State Department of Revenue for Emergency Medical Services (C.R.S. 42-3-304(21))
$0.10 – Insurance Identification Database (C.R.S. 42-3-304 (1)(a))
$1.00 – Peace Officer Safety and Training Fund (C.R.S. 42-3-304(24))
$4.00 – Motorcycle Operator Safety Training Fund (C.R.S. 42-3-304(4))
$10.00 – Diesel Emissions Fee, state fund (C.R.S. 42-3-304(20))
$29 – Annual Keep Colorado Wild State Park Pass (C.R.S. 42-3-105)

License Plate Cash Fund (C.R.S. 42-3-301)

$2.18 – Embossed License Plate (single)
$4.36 – Embossed License Plate (set)
$3.84 – Print-on-Demand License Plate (single)
$7.69 – Print-on-Demand License Plate (set)
$0.22 – Year Tab
$0.15 – Month Tab
$0.50 – SMM Ownership and Rental Tab each
$7.03 – Temporary Permits
$0.25 – Electric Vehicle Decal

The remaining license fee is forwarded to the Highway User Tax Fund (C.R.S. 42-3-304 (9)(a) +(10)) and (C.R.S 42-3.306 (2)(b)(11)). This is based off the age of vehicle:

  • 1-6 years: $12
  • 7-9 years: $10
  • 10 years+: $7

Ownership Tax (C.R.S. 42-3-106(4))

$0.50 – Finance state motor vehicle computer system
$0.50 – County general fund

The remainder of the tax is distributed by the Boulder County Treasurer in accordance with the various mill levies that have been established in the community, including:

  • School districts
  • Fire districts
  • Water districts
  • Flood control

More than one-half of the money collected goes to school districts. Special plate fees are due upon issuance or replacement of the following:

  • Designer plates
  • Special organizational plates
  • Military plates
  • Personalized plates

Special plate fees are forwarded to the Highway User Tax Fund (HUTF) and License Service Cash Fund (LSCF) (C.R.S. 42-3-312). Annual renewal fee for designer plates and personalized plates are forwarded to Highway User Tax Fund (HUTF).

Contact Us

Motor Vehicle Division

**New as of Jan 4, 2021**
7:30 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. Mon-Thurs.
CLOSED Fridays
Online Contact Form
Contáctenos - Formulario en línea

Phone: 303-413-7710

Fax: 303-413-7725 (Boulder office)
Fax: 303-413-7002 (Lafayette office)
Fax: 303-678-6126 (Longmont office)


Boulder: 1750 33rd Street
Map & Directions

Longmont: 529 Coffman Street
Map & Directions

Lafayette: 1755 S. Public Road
Map & Directions

Mailing Address

1750 33rd Street, Suite 100
Boulder, CO 80301