Stage 1 fire restrictions, enacted for unincorporated areas of western Boulder County.

News Archive
ATTENTION: This news article is more than 1 year old and information may be outdated.

March 24, 2020

Late Payment & Delinquent Interest Policy for Property Tax Payments

Boulder County, Colo. - With Executive Order D 2020 012, Governor Jared Polis authorized the county treasurers within Colorado to suspend or waive delinquent interest that may accrue as a result of delinquent tax payments for 30 days.

Many taxpayers had planned to make full payments of property taxes by April 30, but with the changing circumstances due to COVID-19, this may now be very difficult for many taxpayers. From now until April 20, the Boulder County Treasurer's Office will accept delinquent 1st half payments (originally due March 2) without interest. The second half payment of property taxes will be due June 15.

To make this first half payment without interest you must pay with a check or cash - this cannot be paid online. Please either drop a check or cash in the dropbox at 1325 Pearl Street, Boulder or mail it to Treasurer's Office, P.O. BOX 471, Boulder, CO 80306-0471.

You can also use the 24 hour automated phone payment system at 1-800-272-9829, using Jurisdiction Code 1601. Payment via the phone system incurs a 2.5% charge for using a credit card, but is free to use an e-check.

The Executive Order only extends to current year (2019 taxes) delinquent tax payments, not on any other interest or fees. The Order only applies to payments made between March 20 and April 20 (interest cannot be retroactively removed if a late payment has already been made prior to March 20). This waiver of interest does not apply to accounts where the taxes are being paid by a mortgage company through a taxpayer’s escrow account or by a title company as part of a real estate closing.

By law, the Governor must limit the executive order on interest-free delinquent payments for 30 days to allow the Colorado Legislature to take action. Should the Legislature not act within that time period, and the situation that brought on the need for the Executive Order still exists, the Governor can choose to extend those provisions.

There are many resources to help taxpayers during this situation. Visit the Boulder County Treasurer's Office website at, for some resources, or the State of Colorado website,

The Treasurer's Office is also available to answer questions by phone or email at 303-441-3520 or