News Archive
ATTENTION: This news article is more than 1 year old and information may be outdated.

April 21, 2021

Media Contact
Vivienne Jannatpour, (303) 678-6277

2021 Land Conservation Award Winners Announced

Ceremony scheduled for October 6, 2021

Boulder County, Colo. - The Boulder County Commissioners and Parks & Open Space staff are thrilled to announce the 2021 Land Conservation Award winners. Each spring during Volunteer Week, Boulder County honors individuals or groups with its Land Conservation Awards for outstanding contributions made to the conservation, preservation, and protection of land-based environmental resources.

Due to the pandemic, the 2020 spring awards ceremony was postponed, then canceled, and the 2021 ceremony has been postponed until the fall. The 2020 winners will be honored along with the 2021 winners in person on October 6, 2021, at an awards ceremony in Longmont (indoor or outdoor location to be determined depending on COVID restrictions).

The commissioners will present the following 2021 awards:

  • Land Conservation Award to Margaret Geick and Jean Moore for the preservation of the Tucker property, 324 acres of lands in the Indian Peaks Environmental Conservation Area just west of Nederland.
  • Environmental Stewardship Award to Jan Chu for her many decades of increasing the knowledge and appreciation of butterflies and their integral role in ecosystem function.
  • Cultural & Historic Preservation Award to Indian Mountain Native American Veterans, under the guidance and leadership of Wesley Black Elk and Marty Chase Alone, for reestablishing the Inipi Ceremony (purification sweat lodge) on the Southdown Indian Mountain property.
  • Volunteer Awards will be presented to Elizabeth Kellogg for countless hours of volunteer work for Boulder County Plant Ecology projects; and Anne Cure, for her long-time volunteer work for the Boulder County CSU Extension agriculture program.

Along with the 2020 winners announced last spring:

  • Land Conservation Award to Paul Lev-Ary for the donation of land to expand the Anne U. White trailhead.
  • Environmental Stewardship Award to Diane and Lowell Dodge for implementing an ecological enhancement plan on their 40-acre property.
  • Volunteer Awards will be presented to Rob Alexander for outstanding contribution as a member of the Extension Advisory Board, a volunteer for 4-H, and contributor to numerous Extension workshops and events; and Gedeon LaFarge for outstanding contribution as member of the Volunteer Ranger Corps and service as an Outdoor Challenge teen mentor.

For more information about the awards and each winner, please visit

Tucker property

The Tucker Property west of Nederland