Starting Jan. 1, the minimum wage in unincorporated Boulder County is $15.69/hour.

A partir del 1 de enero, el salario mínimo local en la zona no incorporada del condado de Boulder será de $15.69/hora.

kids biking and skating


Electronic cigarettes (i.e. e-cigarettes, or e-cigs) look similar to cigarettes in shape and size but contain a battery-operated heating device that vaporizes a nicotine-containing solution, creating a mist that is then inhaled. The tips often have an indicator light, designed to emulate the burning ash of a traditional cigarette. They may be either disposable or refillable.

Using an e-cigarette is commonly referred to as “vaping.” Popular brands of e-cigarettes, sold at convenience stores and gas stations, include “blu” and “NJOY.” Products come in kid-friendly flavors, such as chocolate, strawberry, mint, and piña colada.


Health Risks
The safety and efficacy of e-cigarettes has not been fully studied. Right now there is no way of knowing how much nicotine or other potentially harmful chemicals are being inhaled by users and/or bystanders. These products are not considered to be safe or effective replacements for other tobacco products.

Recent studies have found that e-cigarettes can contain as much nicotine as a regular cigarette – or more. The liquid nicotine solution is very toxic and can potentially be spilled or accidentally swallowed.

Cartridges generally contain up to 20 mg of nicotine. The lethal dose of nicotine for children is approximately 10 mg.
Safety Risks
E-cigarettes, or “vapes,” can explode and cause serious injury. Although rare, these explosions are dangerous.

Avoid “vape” battery explosions
Report safety concerns about e-cigarettes
Laws & Regulations
It is illegal for youth under 18 to buy or possess them in Colorado; it is also illegal for adults to sell or give them to anyone under 18.

The 2008 Tobacco Free Schools Law prohibits the use of tobacco products on school grounds by students, staff, and visitors. Tobacco products are defined as, “any product that contains nicotine or tobacco or is derived from tobacco and is intended to be ingested, inhaled, or applied to the skin of an individual.”

Safe Disposal
In Boulder County, e-cigarette components, including batteries and e-liquids can be disposed of at the Boulder County Hazardous Materials Management Facility.

To learn more about e-cigarettes, e-hookahs, and other tobacco-related products and issues, please contact Boulder County Tobacco Education and Prevention Partnership (TEPP) staff at 303-413-7524.

Electronic Smoking Device Fact Sheet

Related Links

About the Tobacco Education & Prevention Partnership
Colorado Clean Indoor Air Act
Free Materials, Guides, & Information
Secondhand Smoke
Secondhand Smoke Regulations & Responsibilities
Sexual Orientation, Gender, & Tobacco
Substance Use & Athletic Performance
Tobacco Education & Prevention Partnership

Contact Us

Tobacco Education and Prevention Program (TEPP)

Main: 303-413-7540
Submit a question


3482 Broadway
Map and Directions
Hours: 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Boulder County Public Health logo