Starting Jan. 1, the minimum wage in unincorporated Boulder County is $15.69/hour.

A partir del 1 de enero, el salario mínimo local en la zona no incorporada del condado de Boulder será de $15.69/hora.

Birth Certificates
baby footprint on a birth certificate

Birth Certificates

Locations

Boulder

3450 Broadway
Map and Directions
Hours: Please call to make an appointment.
303-441-1100
Submit a question for the Boulder Office

Longmont

515 Coffman St., Second Floor
Map and Directions
Hours: Monday – Friday: 8 am to 12 pm and 1:00 pm to 4:30 pm.
*Last applications accepted at 11:45 am and 4:15 pm to allow processing time before closure. Monday-Friday
303-678-6166
Submit a question for the Longmont Office

Requests for certified copies of birth/death certificates may be made by mail, fax, online, or in person. Each certificate costs $20.00, and additional copies cost $13.00.

Boulder County Public Health issues certified birth records for persons born anywhere in Colorado from 1904 to the present day. Birth certificates can be used for the following purposes:

  • Passports
  • Social Security
  • Employment
  • Personal identification

Who Can Order

  • The person named on the birth certificate
  • Members of the immediate family (proof of relationship is required)
  • Legal representatives of those named above
  • Others demonstrating a direct and tangible interest in the record

Boulder County Public Health issues Colorado birth certificates in accordance with Colorado state law.

Requirements

Photocopy of a Valid ID (of the person making the request)

Check or Money Order Payable To

Boulder County Public Health Vital Records

  • $20.00 for one copy (or for search when no record found)
    • If paid by credit card, there is an additional fee of $.75 plus 2.25% of the total cost.
  • $13.00 for each additional copy of the same record when ordered at the same time
    • If paid by credit card, there is an additional fee of $.75 plus 2.25% of the total cost.

Boulder County Public Health cannot accept payment by temporary check.

Application Form

Send Form, Copy of Valid ID, and Payment To Nearest Office

Longmont

Boulder County Public Health
Attn: Vital Records
515 Coffman St., second floor
Longmont, CO 80501
Phone: 303-678-6166

Boulder

Boulder County Public Health
Attn: Vital Records
3450 Broadway
Boulder, CO 80304
Phone: 303-441-1100

Boulder County Public Health (BCPH) issues Colorado birth certificates in accordance with Colorado state law.

In order to obtain a birth certificate online, please visit VitalChek.

In person orders will be processed within about 15 – 20 minutes.

Requirements

Valid ID (person making the request)

Cash, Check, or Money Order

Boulder County Public Health cannot accept payment by temporary check.

  • $20.00 for one copy (or for search when no record found)
    • If paid by credit card, there is an additional fee of $.75 plus 2.25% of the total cost.
  • $13.00 for each additional copy of the same record when ordered at the same time
    • If paid by credit card, there is an additional fee of $.75 plus 2.25% of the total cost.

Application Form

Boulder County Public Health issues Colorado birth certificates in accordance with Colorado state law.

Requirements

Valid ID (person making the request)

  • Driver’s license
  • Passport
  • Or, see list of required info/ID

Credit Card Payment

  • $20.00 for one copy (or for search when no record is found)
    • If paid by credit card, there is an additional fee of $0.75 plus 2.25% of the total cost
  • $13.00 for each additional copy of the same record when ordered at the same time
    • If paid by credit card, there is an additional fee of $0.75 plus 2.25% of the total cost

Fax Application Form

Fax the application, a copy of required ID, and credit card payment to 303-678-6163.

For questions, please call 303-678-6175.

Boulder County Public Health issues Colorado birth certificates in accordance with Colorado state law.

Fees

  • $20.00 for one copy
    • If paid by credit card, there is an additional fee of $.75 plus 2.25% of the total cost.
  • $13.00 for each additional copy of the same record when ordered at the same time
    • If paid by credit card, there is an additional fee of $.75 plus 2.25% of the total cost.

Payment

Boulder County Public Health cannot accept payment by temporary check.

We can only process credit cards in person.

We accept:

  • Visa
  • MasterCard
  • Discover
  • American Express

You can also process online requests through VitalChek. VitalChek is an independent company that we partner with. An additional fee is charged by VitalChek, and all major credit cards are accepted, including American Express®, Discover®, MasterCard® or Visa®.

Changes on Birth Certificates

Changes on birth certificates must be made through the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment, Certification Section, Vital Record Division.

  • For adding a father’s name, call 303-692-2226
  • For processing recent adoptions, call 303-692-2227

Establishing Paternity

If the parents are not married at the time of the child’s birth, the father’s name will not be listed on the birth certificate unless an “Acknowledgement of Paternity” form is filled out. If the “Acknowledgement of Paternity” is completed while mother and baby are still in the hospital, there is no charge.

Paternity forms can also be submitted after the child is born to the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment, Vital Record Division. The processing fee is $20.00.

To obtain an Acknowledgement of Paternity form (voluntary) or additional information, contact the State of Colorado Vital Records at 303-692-2230.

Social Security Cards

Parents may register newborns for Social Security cards at the time of birth. The service is free, and takes approximately 2-3 weeks. For more information, please contact:

Social Security Office

480 W. Dahlia Street
Louisville, CO 80027
(800) 772-1213
Monday – Friday, 9 a.m. – 4 p.m.

New Baby?

Certified, legal birth certificates can be ordered from Boulder County Public Health or any other local public health office. Certificates provided by hospitals are not legal documents.

Contact Us


Longmont

515 Coffman St., Second Floor
Map and Directions
Hours: 8 a.m. to noon; 1-4:30p.m.
Monday-Friday
303-678-6166
Submit a question for the Longmont Office


Boulder

3450 Broadway
Map and Directions
Hours: Please call to make an appointment. - Por favor llame para hacer una cita.
303-441-1100
Submit a question for the Boulder Office