Starting Jan. 1, the minimum wage in unincorporated Boulder County is $15.69/hour.

A partir del 1 de enero, el salario mínimo local en la zona no incorporada del condado de Boulder será de $15.69/hora.

Nederland EcoPass Public Improvement District Advisory Committee (NEPPIDAC)

Do you want to support and help direct the Nederland EcoPass Program? We have two vacancies on our advisory committee and are seeking applicants. Visit the Board and Commissions page and click “Apply” next to Nederland EcoPass Public Improvement District Advisory Committee.

Public Meetings

Nederland EcoPass Public Improvement District Advisory Committee (NEPPIDAC) Public Meeting – Wednesday, Feb. 21, 2024 at 5 p.m.

Attend online, or at the Nederland Community Library, 200 Highway 72 North, Nederland, CO 80466

Join the virtual public meeting using Microsoft Teams

Meeting ID: 261 173 701 779 | Passcode: b8bYmk

Optionally, you may call-in to the meeting: 1-720-400-7859 | Phone Conference ID: 173 822 954#

Webpage: Nederland EcoPass Public Improvement District Advisory Committee (NEPPIDAC)

Meeting Materials

About the Nederland EcoPass Public Improvement District Advisory Committee

The NEPPIDAC is an independent committee that provides Boulder County Commissioners with recommendations regarding the administration of the Nederland EcoPass Public Improvement District.

While the Board of County Commissioners (BOCC) has the legal authority and responsibility to make decisions regarding the operation and finances of the District, the Committee members serve in an advisory capacity to the BOCC. The Committee acts as a communication link between the property owners and residents of the District and the BOCC. The Committee shall advise the BOCC and the Public Works Department on issues pertinent to the implementation of the public improvements serving the District.

It is Boulder County policy to make county programs, meetings, activities, and services accessible to individuals with disabilities, according to the Americans with Disabilities Act. If you need special assistance, contact the ADA Coordinator at 303-441-3525 at least 72 hours before the scheduled event.

Proposed Nederland EcoPass Public Improvement District Extension

A proposal for a ballot issue for the November 2023 election to extend for ten years the District’s existing ad valorem property tax mill levy imposed at a rate not to exceed 1.85 mills for the purposes of paying the costs of providing a Regional Transportation District EcoPass to all District residents; and to seek elector authorization for the District to administer an EcoPass program for non-resident employees of employers operating within the District.

Ballot language and further details can be found on the Ballot Measures webpage, or view the Fact Sheet.
Nederland EcoPass 2023 Ballot Measure Fact Sheet information graphic

Nederland EcoPass Information

In November 2013, voters within the Town of Nederland and outlying areas approved formation of a Public Improvement District (PID) with the intention to provide an EcoPass at no cost for all permanent residents in the district and, if funding permitted, to create transportation related amenities. Starting in 2014, this program created an additional 1.85 property tax mill levy to fund the district for a period of 10 years.

The EcoPass is an annual transit pass purchased by a collection of residences. The pass provides unlimited usage of all regular RTD services, including:

  • Any local, express or regional bus
  • Boulder’s Community Transit Network (CTN): HOP, SKIP, JUMP, BOUND, DASH, STAMPEDE & BOLT
  • SkyRide bus service to DIA
  • NB bus to Eldora Mountain Ski Resort
  • Light Rail
  • Call-n-Ride

Learn more about the EcoPass program. All full-time residents within the program boundaries are eligible to receive the EcoPass.

Required Qualifications for Advisory Committee Membership

NEPPIDAC shall consist of five (5) individuals all of whom must live within the district. Proof of residency is required.

One member of the NEPPIDAC shall be recommended by the Nederland Board of Trustees to be appointed by the Public Improvement District (PID) Board. The term of this appointment shall coincide with the Nederland Board of Trustees two-year election cycle. New appointments are made in June after the April elections. This member will act as the Chair and liaison for the Advisory Committee.

The remaining four (4) members of the NEPPIDAC shall be at-large positions appointed by the District Board. The at-large positions shall have four-year terms staggered every two years.

Current Board Members

  • Andrew Bliss – Member-at-Large – term through Feb. 28, 2025
  • Tom Mahowald – Town of Nederland BOT Rep – open ended term
  • Vera Schulte-Pelkum – Member-at-Large – term through Feb. 28, 2024
  • Susie Gallaudet – Member-at-Large – term through Feb. 28, 2026
  • Eugene Smith – Member-at-Large – term through Feb. 28, 2026

Past Meetings

Comment Form

Contact Us

Community Planning & Permitting (formerly the Land Use Dept.)

Email: Ask a Planner Form
Main: 303-441-3930

Courthouse Annex Building

2045 13th St.
Boulder, CO 80302


8 a.m. to 3 p.m. Monday, Wednesday, Thursday
10 a.m. to 3 p.m. Tuesday
Map and Directions

Mailing Address

Community Planning & Permitting
PO Box 471
Boulder, CO 80306
Community Planning & Permitting website