Boulder County government offices are closed Monday, May 27, in observance of Memorial Day.

Net Zero New Construction Roadmap

Roadmap to Net Zero Energy New Construction

Several Colorado counties and municipalities that make up the Northwest Metropolitan Regional Energy Code Cohort (hereafter, “the Cohort”) have agreed upon a Roadmap to Net Zero Energy New Construction, which can be downloaded here:

Cover of Roadmap to Net Zero Energy New Construction

The Roadmap, finalized in April after a year of development, aims to reduce greenhouse gas emissions and improve resilience by achieving net zero codes in new construction by the end of 2030. In the development process, the Cohort prioritized housing affordability and equity, as well as local decarbonization, resilience, and ease of permitting for staff and builders. With this Roadmap, the Cohort aims to set a precedent for state level codes that would apply to municipalities statewide.

The Cohort consists of the following counties and municipalities:

  • Boulder County
  • City of Lafayette
  • City of Northglenn
  • City of Louisville
  • Town of Erie
  • Town of Superior
  • City and County of Broomfield
  • City of Longmont
  • City of Boulder

The Roadmap came together with organization and leadership from Lotus Engineering and Sustainability and the Southwest Energy Efficiency Project. A Colorado Department of Labor Affairs (DOLA) grant partially funded the work and was administered on behalf of all the cohort communities by Boulder County. Xcel Energy provided technical assistance through its newly launched energy codes program.

Contact Us

Office of Sustainability, Climate Action and Resilience

OSCAR Team Members


Boulder County Courthouse
First Floor
1325 Pearl St.
Boulder, CO 80302
Map and Directions

Hours: 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Mailing Address

PO Box 471
Boulder, CO 80306