Body Art Is Regulated by Public Health
Body art is an invasive procedure in which the skin is punctured or compromised. Contaminates or pathogens can invade the body through punctured skin. Poor sanitation practices, such as improperly sanitized instruments or lack of testing for airborne spores, can lead to infection or transmission of communicable diseases, such as hepatitis B and hepatitis C.
Boulder County Body Art Regulations
The purpose of the Boulder County Body Art Regulations is to establish the safe and sanitary practice of body art, the safe and sanitary physical environment where body art is performed, and the safe and sanitary conditions of equipment utilized in body art procedures.
Tattooing & Piercing Minors
According to existing law (Colorado Body Art Act 25-4-2103, Parental Consent for Minors), it is a crime to perform body art on a person under the age of 18 years without written consent of a parent or legal guardian. Failure to obtain that written consent prior to performing body art procedures on a minor shall constitute a petty offense that is punishable by a fine of $250. For more information on the existing law, see Colorado Body Art Regulations.
Permanent makeup, including microblading, is considered a form of body art in Boulder County. Permanent makeup artists will need a Boulder County body art license in addition to licensing by the Colorado Division of Regulatory Agencies (DORA).